Love Comes at Dusk Ch. 5

“Who’s your new friend Jess?” Nick asked upon joining the group.

Jesse paused and looked up to the stage to make sure he wasn’t going to be interrupted again. “Boys this is–” Jesse began.

“Oh Nick, stop joking around, you know exactly who I am,” Melody teased.

“Wait, you two know one another?” Jesse asked aghast.

“Of course, we do, we were in the same history class together in high school,” Melody said with a giggle.

“Yeah, we also car pooled together when we were still in high school,” Nick said with a smirk. “So, how’ve you been Melody?” Nick asked.

“Great! Especially now that I met this wonderful man,” Melody said excitedly as she hugged Jesse’s arm tightly.

“Wait… I… uhh… well, never mind,” Jesse stuttered overcome by confusion and surprise.

“It’s nice to meet you, I’m Sean,” he introduced offering out his hand to Melody.

“It’s a pleasure Sean,” Melody said as she took his hand.

“Jesse’s lucky that he met such a beautiful woman,” Sean said taking Melody’s hand and kissing the back of it.

“Why thank you,” Melody said with a small giggle.

The four new friends made their way out to the parking lot. On the way, Jesse told his friends about his mother kicking him out of the house, and all other events that transpired that night. “Wait, you mean to tell me that your mother actually kicked you out of the house?” Sean asked.

“Is Kyle seriously that naive?” Nick asked with a hard laugh.

“Yeah, and I wouldn’t have had anywhere to go tonight if Melody wouldn’t have offered me a place to stay,” Jesse said sounding relieved.

“Jesse, you know you could have told us and we would have offered you a place to stay for a few days,” Sean said.

“True, but what would happen after a few days? I’d be right back with having no place to go. Your parents would either make me pay rent, or suggest I reconcile with my mother,” Jesse replied.

“So, what’s next? You going to stay at Melody’s house until her parents come home? How’s that conversation going to go? Oh, hi Mom and Dad, while you were away I decided to move my new boyfriend into the house. I hope that’s not a problem,” Nick said.

Jesse and Melody gave each other empty gazes, “Uh, yeah we hadn’t thought of that,” Jesse said running though that scenario in his head.

“My parents are hospitable people, I don’t think they’d have a problem with Jesse,” Melody said.

“I guess I’ll call up Dad in the morning and tell him I’ll be moving to Columbus sooner than expected,” Jesse said thinking aloud.

“No! You can’t leave me!” Melody cried out desperately as she wrapped her arms around Jesse tightly.

Jesse smiled at this, “We’ll figure something out Melody, don’t worry,” Jesse assured his new girlfriend.

See Jesse, now you have a reason to stay,” Sean said as he unlocked his car door.

“Yeah, I guess I do,” Jesse said proudly. “So, you guys are cool with running to my mom’s house and getting my stuff off the lawn, right?” Jesse asked.

“We got you brother,” Sean said as he got into his car.

“Alright then, I’ll see you boys at the library tomorrow,” Jesse said as he hopped up into his truck.

“Later Jesse,” Nick replied as he drove away.

Jesse turned to Melody, “So I guess I’ll just follow you home?” he asked as he looked around for Melody. “Melody?” He called out for her.

From a distance, Jesse heard the sound of a thousand powerful horses cranking up. He looked around for the source of the sound, he could feel his ears twitching ever so slightly as the sound got louder and louder. He looked out his rolled down window and saw a 2018 midnight black Chevy ZR1 pull up right next to him. His eyes popped and his jaw dropped, “Think you can keep up?” Melody asked as she rolled down the passenger side window.

“This is… your car?” Jesse asked awestruck.

Melody let out a girlish giggle, “Yeah it was a graduation gift from my parents for graduating high school,” Melody said as she revved up the engine.

“That’s sexy,” Jesse said.

“Well, close your mouth and try not to lose me,” Melody said challenging Jesse.

“You’re on,” Jesse said as they both shot out of the parking lot, engines echoing off the tree lined country roads.

As Jesse and Melody flew down the road, the weather became perilous. Rain beat down on Jesse’s windshield, like an ancient war drum. Lightning violently tore across the skies lighting up the barely visible road. The sound of roaring thunder ricocheted off the dense tree line.

Jesse had lost sight of Melody’s car and was now lost on an abandoned seemingly haunted road. “Where am I?” Jesse asked, now squinting to find the road among the intense rain that covered his windshield. From the passenger side window, Jesse could make out an old wooden fence that he had been following for a few miles. “I’ve got to be close,” Jesse said peering out the passenger side window.

As Jesse turned his eyes back to the main road, he lost control of his truck and slammed the front of his truck into a large oak tree. As he drifted away from consciousness, he could hear voices muttering from above him and feel the blood dripping down his face.

Jesse felt his cataleptic body being pulled from his demolished truck. Though he was fading in and out of consciousness from the impact of the crash and the heavy amount of blood loss, he could hear a familiar voice calling out to him, “Stay with me Jesse! Please don’t give up on me!” He heard Melody cry out to him.

“His heart beat is weak! Get me the AED!” Jesse heard an unfamiliar feminine voice demand. “Get me some

As Jesse and Melody flew down the road, the weather became perilous. Rain beat down on Jesse’s windshield, like an ancient war drum. Lightning violently tore across the skies lighting up the barely visible road. The sound of roaring thunder ricocheted off the dense tree line.

Jesse had lost sight of Melody’s car and was now lost on an abandoned seemingly haunted road. “Where am I?” Jesse asked, now squinting to find the road amongst the intense rain that covered his windshield. From the passenger side window, Jesse could make out an old wooden fence that he had been following for a few miles. “I’ve got to be close,” Jesse said peering out the passenger side window.

As Jesse turned his eyes back to the main road, he lost control of his truck and slammed the front of his truck into a large oak tree. As he drifted away from consciousness, he could hear voices muttering from above him and feel the blood dripping down his face.

Jesse felt his cataleptic body being pulled from his demolished truck. Though he was fading in and out of consciousness from the impact of the crash and the heavy amount of blood loss, he could hear a familiar voice calling out to him, “Stay with me Jesse! Please don’t give up on me!” He heard Melody cry out to him.

“His heart beat is weak! Get me the AED!” Jesse heard an unfamiliar feminine voice demand. “Get me some tourniquets! We need to stop the bleeding!” She ordered again.

Jesse could feel the cool touch of a loving hand clutching his face, “I promise you Jesse, I’m not going to let you die,” he heard Melody say to him. “This all my fault, I’m sorry Jesse… I-I- I lo…” Melody began to say.

“No time for apologies and sympathy now! If you want him to live I suggest you help me stop the blood!” the feminine voice ordered. Jesse felt Melody gently lay his head down on the hard asphalt road.

“Grab me that tarp! We can’t just leave him here in the rain!” The mysterious woman continued barking out orders. “There that should stop the blood, for now,” he heard her say sounding a bit calmer. “We can finish up when we get him to the house. Come on, help me carry him,” the mysterious woman said. Jesse could feel his entire body being wrapped up in the tarp and felt his body lifted from the ground. As they lifted him up, Jesse saw a bright light and finally and could feel himself floating towards it.

“Wh-Wh-Where am I?” Jesse asked softly as he opened his sleepy eyes. He lifted himself off the ground and began to look around. “What is this place?” His voice echoed across the plains of beautiful stars and constellations. Jesse looked down at his feet, even the ground he walked on glowed with silver stars against a glowing blue and purple sky.

“You stand at the end of existence, and are surrounded by the depths of infinity,” a young female’s voice echoed melodiously through the starry void.

“I feel a sense of fear, yet a sense of comfort,” Jesse said.

“The fear you’re feeling is the fear of death and leaving your loved ones behind. The comfort you feel is the sweet release from mortal bonds,” the enigmatic voice said.

From out of the starry infinity came a figure dressed in a black and silver hooded cloak. “Let your heart and soul beat as one, let fear go, and trust in those that love you,” the mysterious woman said as she approached him.

“Who are you?” Jesse asked.

“You don’t recognize the voice of your own girlfriend?” she asked with a giggle. Before Jesse could utter another word, she grabbed him by the shirt and pulled him in for a deep and passionate kiss. “I feel like…I know you…” Jesse uttered, his breath escaping him.

“You do know me Jesse, your memory is just a little fuzzy after that accident,” she said. “Let your heart and soul beat as one and they will guide you to my identity,” she said releasing Jesse’s shirt allowing him to fall through the starry ground and into infinity. As Jesse fell he caught a glimpse of the young woman’s silver lips and concealed pale face allowing him to feel a sense of joy and comfort as he continued to fall back into existence.

“How is he doing?” Jesse heard a feminine voice ask.

“Still in a coma,” he heard the soothing voice of Melody reply.

“Did you have to, well you know?” the voice asked.

“No, Sarah was able to keep him alive without me having to,” Melody answered. “If I do it at all, I’d want him to know it. It’s a very intimate thing to do someone so I’d like him to share the experience with me,” Melody said as she looked down on Jesse with gentle eyes.

“Well if something like this happens again, you may not have a choice next time,” Jesse heard a chilling voice say from a distant corner. “If you’re going to tell him, then you need to do it sooner than later,” she said as she walked into the room.

“What if he doesn’t want to? What if he rejects who I am?” Melody asked, the thought of rejection tearing through her like a knife through cardboard.

Well then, we kill him,” the cool voice said darkly with a snicker.

“I couldn’t do that,” Melody said feeling overwhelmed.

“In all seriousness Melody, if this man loves you like you think he does, he will accept you for who and what you are,” the enigmatic voice said consoling Melody.

“Thanks Sarah…for everything,” Melody said hugging her best friend.

“Don’t get me wrong Melody, I’m still pissed,” Sarah said, her deceivingly soothing tone becoming serious. “You’ve put our family in danger by bringing him here,” she lectured.

“What choice did I have? Leave him out in that death trap to die?” Melody questioned.

“No, but you should have thought this through a little more than you did. What if he finds out and tells everyone he knows? There would be an angry mob charging through the door. Your father couldn’t keep it a secret and look at what happened to him,” Sarah continued to lecture.

Jesse heard Melody begin to cry, “I know Sarah, I know,” Melody said tears running down her face.

“Sarah why did you have to go there?” the soothing feminine voice asked.

Because Annie…she needs to understand the gravity of the situation,” Sarah said her tone rising a little.

Jesse wanted to move in to give Melody a hug, but though his brain wanted to move, his body wouldn’t let him.

“Let’s just give her some space,” Annie said as she and Sarah got up from the bedside and left the room.

! We need to stop the bleeding!” She ordered again.

Jesse could feel the cool touch of a loving hand clutching his face, “I promise you Jesse, I’m not going to let you die,” he heard Melody say to him. “This all my fault, I’m sorry Jesse… I-I- I lo…” Melody began to say.

“No time for apologies and sympathy now! If you want him to live I suggest you help me stop the blood!” the feminine voice ordered. Jesse felt Melody gently lay his head down on the hard asphalt road.

“Grab me that tarp! We can’t just leave him here in the rain!” The mysterious woman continued barking out orders. “There that should stop the blood, for now,” he heard her say sounding a bit calmer. “We can finish up when we get him to the house. Come on, help me carry him,” the mysterious woman said. Jesse could feel his entire body being wrapped up in the tarp and felt his body lifted from the ground. As they lifted him up, Jesse saw a bright light and finally and could feel himself floating towards it.

“Wh-Wh-Where am I?” Jesse asked softly as he opened his sleepy eyes. He lifted himself off the ground and began to look around. “What is this place?” His voice echoed across the plains of beautiful stars and constellations. Jesse looked down at his feet, even the ground he walked on glowed with silver stars against a glowing blue and purple sky.

“You stand at the end of existence, and are surrounded by the depths of infinity,” a young female’s voice echoed melodiously through the starry void.

“I feel a sense of fear, yet a sense of comfort,” Jesse said.

“The fear you’re feeling is the fear of death and leaving your loved ones behind. The comfort you feel is the sweet release from mortal bonds,” the enigmatic voice said.

From out of the starry infinity came a figure dressed in a black and silver hooded cloak. “Let your heart and soul beat as one, let fear go, and trust in those that love you,” the mysterious woman said as she approached him.

“Who are you?” Jesse asked.

“You don’t recognize the voice of your own girlfriend?” she asked with a giggle. Before Jesse could utter another word, she grabbed him by the shirt and pulled him in for a deep and passionate kiss. “I feel like…I know you…” Jesse uttered, his breath escaping him.

“You do know me Jesse, your memory is just a little fuzzy after that accident,” she said. “Let your heart and soul beat as one and they will guide you to my identity,” she said releasing Jesse’s shirt allowing him to fall through the starry ground and into infinity. As Jesse fell he caught a glimpse of the young woman’s silver lips and concealed pale face allowing him to feel a sense of joy and comfort as he continued to fall back into existence.

“How is he doing?” Jesse heard a feminine voice ask.

“Still in a coma,” he heard the soothing voice of Melody reply.

“Did you have to, well you know?” the voice asked.

“No, Sarah was able to keep him alive without me having to,” Melody answered. “If I do it at all, I’d want him to know it. It’s a very intimate thing to do someone so I’d like him to share the experience with me,” Melody said as she looked down on Jesse with gentle eyes.

“Well if something like this happens again, you may not have a choice next time,” Jesse heard a chilling voice say from a distant corner. “If you’re going to tell him, then you need to do it sooner than later,” she said as she walked into the room.

“What if he doesn’t want to? What if he rejects who I am?” Melody asked, the thought of rejection tearing through her like a knife through cardboard.

Well then, we kill him,” the cool voice said darkly with a snicker.

“I couldn’t do that,” Melody said feeling overwhelmed.

“In all seriousness Melody, if this man loves you like you think he does, he will accept you for who and what you are,” the enigmatic voice said consoling Melody.

“Thanks Sarah…for everything,” Melody said hugging her best friend.

“Don’t get me wrong Melody, I’m still pissed,” Sarah said, her deceivingly soothing tone becoming serious. “You’ve put our family in danger by bringing him here,” she lectured.

“What choice did I have? Leave him out in that death trap to die?” Melody questioned.

“No, but you should have thought this through a little more than you did. What if he finds out and tells everyone he knows? There would be an angry mob charging through the door. Your father couldn’t keep it a secret and look at what happened to him,” Sarah continued to lecture.

Jesse heard Melody begin to cry, “I know Sarah, I know,” Melody said tears running down her face.

“Sarah why did you have to go there?” the soothing feminine voice asked.

Because Annie…she needs to understand the gravity of the situation,” Sarah said her tone rising a little.

Jesse wanted to move in to give Melody a hug, but though his brain wanted to move, his body wouldn’t let him.

“Let’s just give her some space,” Annie said as she and Sarah got up from the bedside and left the room.

 

Leave a Reply

