Your eyes are as blue as the sea

Your eyes are as blue as the sea

And as deep as the coral blue pavement below
The sea exists for some as renewal,
But you my dear have been swallowed in rain.

If I was braver, more able
I’d jump into a boat and sail until I reached the black hole in your soul
And I’d tie a rope to your esophagus and pull gently until your lips
Met your eyelashes and your brain was freed.

You’re a bird trapped in a cage but that cage has no key.
It is skin and yellow bruises but I will kiss them until they fade
If you let me.

-Anna Bowersox

Leave a Reply

