Prayer for My Sister (In the Key Db)

By: Taylor Armstrong

I remember sitting
Waiting to see her and thinking:
“This must be why poets write,
This must be why artists paint abstractly,
This must be why so many songs say ‘oh.’”

It’s the same reason people pray:
Sometimes you’re left with so much to feel
And no way of expressing it but,
“o-woah-woah-woah,
o-woah-woah-woah,
oooooooooooooh,
oh oh
o.”

It’s a language everyone but me knows.
At least, it was,
Up till now.
Here, I’ve suddenly become
A poet
An artist
A singer.
Here, I bow my head.

An atheist praying.
I’m sure there’s a joke in there
Somewhere.

Hospital lobbies are funny like that.

Image Source:

http://www.dianemitchellmusicschool.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/singing-845×321.jpg

Leave a Reply

